General Info CD 8, ACC and Legislative Districts

Agency Links:

Political Party Websites:


Congressional District 8

Arizona's 8th Congressional District encompasses the extreme southeastern of the state. It includes all of Cochise County and parts of Pima, Pinal and Santa Cruz counties.

Find Congressional District 8 Information Here

What does the United States House of Representatives do?

Check out this website:

Arizona Corporation Commission

Information taken from

The Arizona Corporation Commission (ACC) is an independent regulatory body created by the Arizona Constitution. Some people describe it as a fourth branch of government. There are 5 members of the Commission elected by the public to a four-year term. The ACC authority extends beyond traditional public utilities regulation. This powerful body makes important decisions that impact cost and availability of utilities, public safety, quality of life, and Arizona’s businesses and economic development. The following describes the Commission¹s Constitutional and Statutory authorities.

Utilities Regulation
The Commission is the state regulatory authority that makes decisions that affect the quality of service, utility rates, and future investments by public utilities, including telecommunications, water, electric and gas. By state law utilities are regulated monopolies and are given the opportunity to earn a fair and reasonable return on their investments. The Commission is required to reach a balance between what is a fair and reasonable return on investment, and service that is reliable and affordable for all consumers. What is fair and reasonable is debated in rate hearings where final decisions are made by the Commission in an Open Meeting.

The Commission oversees corporations including granting corporate status for businesses and organizations and maintaining public records. The Corporations Division approves for filing all articles of incorporation for Arizona businesses and organizations, and all articles of organization for limited liability companies. It also grants authority to foreign corporations to transact business in this state. When necessary, the Commission investigates to determine a company's lawful purpose, and they revoke the corporate charter of those corporations not in compliance with Arizona law. Every corporation is required to file an annual report which reflects its current status, business, and financial condition. The Commission maintains this information for public access, responds to public questions concerning businesses and corporation law, and disseminates important information to businesses.

The Commission serves as a watchdog ensuring the integrity of the securities marketplace and protecting the public from investment scams and fraud through investigative actions and registering, monitoring and investigating securities, securities dealers and brokers, investment advisers and their representatives. To enhance legitimate capital formation the Commission reviews prospective offerings of securities to ascertain that full and fair disclosure is made to potential investors and that the terms of offerings are not inherently fraudulent. When the evidence warrants, they initiate administrative, civil or criminal enforcement actions.

Railroad and Pipeline Safety

The Commission, under the supervision of the Federal railroad and Pipeline safety division, insures the safe operations of railroads and gas pipelines in Arizona. Staff inspects gas pipelines for safety and operates a railroad safety program.

For more information on the Arizona Corporation Commission, please visit the official website by clicking here

The Arizona State Legislature

The Arizona State Legislature is a bicameral body with 30 members in the Senate and 60 members in the House of Representatives. Each district is served by one Senator and two House members.

We as constituents elect individuals to represent us in the Senate and the House of Representatives.

At the Cienega-Santa Cruz Forum, you will hear from Candidates running for Legislative District 30 House of Representatives and the Senate. A map of Legislative District 30 can be found here:

Judicial Precinct 7

Judicial Precinct 7-What is it and what geographical area does it cover?

Judicial Precinct 7 is almost 1200 square miles. It includes Corona de Tucson, South Vail, Sahuarita, Green Valley, Amado (north of Santa Cruz County line), Arivaca, Sasabe, and Nogales Highway north to Hermans Road.
Each county has justice courts that a Justice of the Peace presides over, who is elected to a four year term. The number of justice courts in a county depends on its population. For example, there are 10 justice courts in Pima County; Pima County Consolidated Justice Courts (8 precincts), Ajo Justice Court, and Green Valley Justice Court.

A Justice of the Peace does not have to be an attorney. Filings include civil lawsuits where the amount in dispute is $10,000 or less, landlord and tenant controversies, small claims cases, and the full range of misdemeanors, civil and criminal traffic offenses, and county ordinances. A Justice of the Peace also handles requests for Restraining Orders including Order of Protections, Injunctions Against Harassments, and Workplace Harassments.

A JP can only sentence up to 6 months in county jail and assess a fine of $2500 for a violation. There are certain charges eligible for a jury trial. The jury pool consists of residents in Judicial Precinct 7.
Links related to Judicial Precinct 7

Arizona Justice of the Peace Association:

Arizona Code of Judicial Conduct/Cannon 4.: